Awards and Recognition

Every year, Dietitians of Canada (DC) celebrates and recognizes the contributions of members through our Member Awards and Recognition program. Award recipients are recognized on the public and member websites, with their employer/program director and at the annual Awards event held during the DC National Conference. View this video in which three members talk about the importance of receiving recognition through our Awards program.

DC members can access the criteria and application details here. The application deadline for awards is January 31.

Ryley Jeffs Memorial Lecture Award

The Ryley Jeffs Memorial Lecture Award is an opportunity to recognize a DC member who exemplifies the ideals of dedication to the profession and who has a proven ability to chart new directions in the field of dietetics. Selected by the DC Board of Directors, the recipient delivers the public Memorial Lecture at the annual DC National Conference and a synopsis of the lecture is published in the fall issue of the Canadian Journal of Dietetic Practice and Research.
2018 recipient – Gerry Kasten
Prior Award Recipients

DC Fellow Awards

This designation is available to members who have demonstrated outstanding professional growth and contributions through educational/professional enhancement, career achievements, initiative/innovation, and leadership in dietetics.
2018 recipents

Member Recognition Awards 

Nominations for this award are submitted by peers and recognize members’ volunteerism, expertise and achievements that contribute to the advancement of the profession. Four areas of recognition are available: Leadership, Innovation, Education and Association Catalyst.
2018 recipients

PEN® Achiever (Canada) Award  

This award is available to members who demonstrate leadership in evidence-based practice through significant or ongoing contributions to the PEN: Practice-based Evidence in Nutrition® system.
2018 recipient 

Student Awards

The Student Awards recognize academic excellence at the undergraduate and post-graduate levels. Each award recipient is provided with cash prize and support to attend the DC National Conference.
2018 recipients

Judy Van Tilburg Memorial Bursary

This Bursary recognizes the critical importance of networking to further one’s career by providing two bursaries to support registration and participation at the DC annual conference for members currently enrolled in an accredited internship or practicum program.
2018 recipients

Morgan Awards

This award, presented by the Canadian Foundation for Dietetic Research, recognizes the personal achievement of a dietetic intern or practicum student for a research project. There is one award available for each of the six DC Regions and the National Morgan Medal winner receives registration and all travel expenses to attend the National Conference. The National recipient is announced at the DC Conference.
2018 recipients

Emeritus Awards

The Board of Directors bestows this permanent designation to retired members of DC (current or past) in appreciation of the contribution they have made to the advancement of dietetics during the nominees' career. The recipient is provided with a pin of recognition during the Awards Ceremony held during the National Conference. Emeritus members are exempt from the payment of annual membership fees.
Our latest recipients

Updated June 8, 2018.