News Releases

57 members recognized at the 2018 DC Awards Ceremony

Jun 08, 2018

VANCOUVER, BC —Dietitians of Canada celebrated the success of 57 members at an awards ceremony in Vancouver yesterday afternoon. The awards were presented in recognition of the important work and contributions of dietitians, students and members of the association.  

“It is evident from the excellence and accomplishments of the 2018 award recipients that dietitians are everywhere and their influence runs deep.” said Karen Boyd, awards committee chair.  “We are proud to celebrate the ways that recipients are elevating the profession and inspiring their peers and communities.
A full list of award recipients as well as details of their contributions can be found at
Ryley-Jeffs Memorial Lecture – 
The Ryley-Jeffs Memorial Lecture will be delivered by Gerry Kasten. 
Gerry has been enhancing people’s lives with practical and pragmatic advice on how to enjoy the deliciousness of food in order to improve their health. It’s his passion for advocacy that led him be a trailblazer in nutrition science, culinary arts, teaching and media. Like all Ryley-Jeffs lecturers, Gerry exemplifies the dedication to the profession and ability to chart new directions in the field of dietetics essential to receiving the Ryley-Jeffs award, the highest honour of the Board of Dietitians of Canada. 
Emeritus Member – 
Linda Dietrich and Elaine Cawadias, were presented with Emeritus designation in appreciation for the career-long contributions they made to the advancement of dietetics. 
DC Fellows
Ryna Levy- Milne, Paula Dworatzek and Rosie Schwartz were presented with a DC Fellowship. 
The DC Fellowship Program promotes excellence in dietetics by recognizing members who have demonstrated outstanding professional growth and contributions through educational/professional enhancement, career achievements, initiative/innovation, and leadership in dietetics. 

Member Recognition Awards
Member Recognition awards were presented to 38 members in four different categories – Education, Leadership, Innovation and Association Catalyst.  The recipients were nominated by their peers for their contributions.
Student Awards
An undergraduate student award was given to Evan Duxbury (UBC), Charles Ko (Ryerson) and a graduate student award was given to Maira Quintanilha (UofA). Laura Bellussi (Moncton Hospital) and Lindsay Vanderspank (Brescia) received Judy Van Tilburg Dietetic Intern Bursaries. 
Morgan Awards for excellence in research were given to Oribim Kingson (UofM), Maja Williams (Brescia) and Florence Lavergne (UofO). Lisa Blundell (Memorial) is the recipient of the 2018 Morgan Medal. 

PEN® Achiever Award
This award recognizes members who demonstrate leadership in evidence-based practice through significant or ongoing contributions to the PEN: Practice-based Evidence in Nutrition® database. This year’s recipient:  Diana Mageris a sought out resource for all gastro-intestinal related questions, especially regarding liver disease, recovery and NAFLD

Congratulations to all members on their success and accomplishments.
About Dietitians of Canada
Dietitians of Canada is the professional association for dietitians, representing members at the local, provincial and national levels. We aim to advance health through food and nutrition and to provide leadership in shaping food and nutrition policy. Dietitians are driven by curiosity to understand the science behind food and its connection to health.
Dietitians of Canada supports the access of Canadians to evidence-based food and nutrition information and helps them locate a dietitian for nutrition counselling and nutrition services at


Additional Information:

For more information, or to arrange an interview, please contact:

Kate Comeau, MSc, RD
Manager of Public Relations and Media
Dietitians of Canada