skip to content

Recognizing extraordinary achievements and remarkable contributions: DC announces 2019 award recipients

OTTAWA, ON —Dietitians of Canada will celebrate 54 individuals at an awards ceremony in Ottawa this Thursday, June 6, 2019. The awards celebrate individuals who have inspired, empowered and lent their passion to promote and elevate the dietetics profession.

“It is evident from the excellence and accomplishments of the 2019 award recipients that dietitians are everywhere and their influence runs deep.” said Karen Boyd, awards committee chair.  “We are proud to celebrate the ways that recipients are elevating the profession and inspiring their peers and communities.

A full list of award recipients as well as details of their contributions can be found at
Ryley-Jeffs Memorial Lecture 
The Ryley-Jeffs Memorial Lecture will be delivered by Dr. Laurie Wadsworth
Dr. Laurie Wadsworth’s career has focused on nutrition and health policy development in public health and academia. She investigates mass media messages to understand the roles of food in society and studies the historical roots of dietetics. She has worked collaboratively to effect change in public policy for improved nutrient profiles in the national food supply as a member of the Trans Fat Task Force and with Heart and Stroke Canada. Dr. Wadsworth also mentors dietetic students in policy development and research to build capacity for a strong future profession. She is a Fellow of Dietitians of Canada and served as Chair of the DC Board of Directors. Dr. Wadsworth has certainly made a dynamic impact on individual dietitians and the profession and is very deserving of the prestigious Ryley-Jeffs Memorial Lecture Award for 2019.  

Register to watch the live broadcast of Dr. Wadsworth’s lecture  
Emeritus Member  
Dr. Shawna Berenbaum, Fran Haley, Helen Haresign and Marilyn Knox will be presented with the DC Emeritus award. The Board of Directors bestows this permanent designation to retired members of DC in appreciation of unique and outstanding contributions to the advancement of the dietetic profession in Canada during the nominees' career.

Honorary Patron Award
Dr. David Jenkins will be presented with the 2019 Honourary Patron Award. Dr. Jenkins has contributed significantly to the dietetic profession through his research and innovative work in nutrition and therapeutic diets. Honourary Patron is the highest level of recognition that DC can bestow upon a person who is not a member of the profession. This award recognizes an individual who through innovation, discovery, or exceptional promotion of dietitians has helped to advance the profession. 

DC Fellows
Dr. Alison Duncan, Dr. Katherine Gottschall-Pass and Sue Mah will be presented with a DC Fellowship. The DC Fellowship Program promotes excellence in dietetics by recognizing members who have demonstrated outstanding professional growth and contributions through educational/professional enhancement, career achievements, initiative/innovation, and leadership in dietetics. 
Member Recognition Awards
Member Recognition awards will be presented to members in three categories – Education, Leadership and Association Catalyst. The recipients were nominated by their peers for their contributions.

  • Association Catalyst: Emily Andreiuk, Marlin Bendayan, Virginnia Bright, Kristen Hedges, Sally Ho, Michele Macdonald Werstuck, Lani Rabinovitch, Linda Vickers.
  • Education: Beth Armour, Stephanie Hass, Judith Fraser-Arsenault
  • Leadership: Barbara Crocker, Isabelle Hall, Eileen Freeman, Jenneka van Hemert, Manon Laporte, Dr. Christina Lengyel, Shin Low, Paula MacEachern, Shelley Murphy, Kayla Thomas,
PEN® Achiever Award
Dr. Andrea Buchholz will receive the PEN® Achiever (Canada) Award for her commitment to PEN through her personal contributions as well as countless contributions through her students. This award recognizes members who demonstrate leadership in evidence-based practice through significant or ongoing contributions to the PEN: Practice-based Evidence in Nutrition® database. 
Student Awards
This year, 22 students from across Canada demonstrated the outstanding leadership, research excellence and academic success deserving of these honours.
Kristen Genereux (Acadia) and Katherine Hillier (Acadia, NSHA) will receive an undergraduate student award, Jordan Mak (Univeristy of Toronto) will receive a graduate student award and Gillian Chu (Mount Saint Vincent University) will be awarded the Judy Van Tilburg Dietetic Intern Bursary. 
Heather-Ann Burell (St. Francis Xavier University) will receive the Morgan Medal for excellence in research. Heather Bray (Acadia University), Rhea Lewandoski (University of Saskatchewan), Timothy Lau (University of British Columbia) and Chelsey Vastenhout (University of Alberta) will receive Morgan Awards.
DC Network Scholarships
DC Newtowk Scholarship recipients include: Adele Corkum (University of Prince Edward Island) – Community & Public Health Nutrition Network, Lloyd Flores (University of Manitoba) – Gerontology Network, Claire Kee (University of Alberta) – Home Care Network, Raphaëlle Laroche-Nantel (University of Ottawa) – Le regroupement des diététistes du Canada, Nga Linda Phan (University of Alberta) – Business & Industry Network, Neda Rezvany (Brescia University College) – Diabetes, Obesity and Cardiovascular Network, Hilary Rock (Brescia University College) – Dysphagia Assessment & Treatment Network, Safura Syed (Mount Saint Vincent University) – Gerontology Network, Kaylee Thomson (University of Saskatchewan) – Consulting Dietitians Network, Kayne Usita (University of Alberta) – Nutrition Support Network, Marjorie Vale (University of Alberta) – Community & Public Health Nutrition Network, Tela Verrelli (Brescia University College) – Sports Nutrition Network, Kelsey Watchman (McGill University) – Pediatric Nutrition Network and Sarah Wyder (Brescia University College) – Diabetes, Obesity and Cardiovascular Network
About Dietitians of Canada
Dietitians of Canada (DC) is a professional association with strong roots connecting members across all areas of food, nutrition and health. DC proudly represents dietitians, fostering growth and passion in the profession through advocacy, engagement and professional development. After more than 80 years, DC remains an innovative organization with strong member leadership and common purpose: to advance the health of Canadians through food and nutrition.  

For more information, or to arrange an interview, please contact:

Kate Comeau, MSc, RD
Manager of Public Relations and Media
Dietitians of Canada
Back to top